Controversial debate

A couple of years after I lost my sight, I was attending the Society for the Blind learning different skills to move on with my life as a blind person.  After one of my classes we had a support group with newly blind people and others that have been blind longer or have been blind all of their lives.

During this session someone asked if it was easier to live life being blind your whole life or having some sight and then losing it, being able to have some memory of what people are describing to you.  It was a very controversial debate and in the end no one had an answer. 

I still stand by my initial feeling, that it is easier to be born blind because you do not know what you are missing.  I would have rather have been born blind than to have lost my sight at the age of 20.  I have never seen my nephews, did not get a chance to see my younger sister or brothers grow into adults, I did not get or will not see the weddings of my siblings, I will not finish my schooling for a long time to come, and if I ever have a child I will never be able to see them. 

I know this sounds a little depressing and maybe it is but I am content with my life as it is because I am alive and would not trade that for anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

