What to do…

During my lazy spell of not working out and right before I got back on track, I was doing some research on the web for an easier machine I could use to get a cardio workout. I have an exercise bike that my dad and I use but we have to Frankenstein the thing so that my legs don’t get banged up. It is very strenuous for my dad and I don’t want him to hurt himself.

I typed in cardio workout for people in wheelchairs into google and low and behold a link to this wonderful smart bike popped up. This link was to a place called Restorative Therapies, Inc.  There they have this bike that is specially made for people with spinal cord injuries, people with MS. (like me), or for peple that are in the ICU and are in a coma.  This bike has electrodes connected to it to stimulate your major muscle groups and helps with atrophy, spasms, spasticity and can build up your muscles even if you have no mobility… I so want this bike for so many reasons but this is where I am having the dilema.  My insurance company will deny it at first and then the company will appeal and that can take about a year. so I thought I would be proactive about it and try to raise the money myself because I don’t have the money to buy it outright.  I told my parents about that idea and my dad was not on board with that.  So what do I do?  Listen to my dad; even though I am 32, and not raise the funds myself or do I just do it anyways.

I have been mulling this over for about two weeks and am still not sure.  I know what I want to do but what will be the consequences if I do. 

I guess I will just have to think about it a little more before making a decision.

Leave a Reply

