Tis the season

I love and hate this time of year.  I hate it for many reasons; the flu runs rampant and  even though it is supposed to be Thanksgiving and Christmas people are grouchy, rude and mean as hell.  Everyone is in a race to get the turkeys, fixings, black Friday deals ( the worst), the best Christmas tree, and no one remembers their excuse me’s or thank you’s.  Why this is I do not know, what happened to the nice get togethers for Thanksgiving with your family and being thankful for what you have and not worrying about what you don’t.

This Thanksgiving has really opened my eyes to what I am thankful for.  It was the first time my grandmother came to a Thanksgiving, the first time in 3 years my sister and her husband were home, the first time in about 8 years all of us children came over and spent time together on that particular  day.

So to keep up that feeling, I am trying to remember how it was when I was younger.  Decorating the tree, baking cookies and all of those delicious goodies that people cringe from, making people laugh just to bring some kind of cheer and be thankful that my family is doing alright.

That is what I loved about this time of year and I am going to make sure I remember to love it again.  Hopefully if I can spred it around my loved ones it will spread from there and if not maybe writing this will help.  🙂 

2 thoughts on “Tis the season

Leave a Reply

