Eyes opened

I watched one of my favorite shows last night, Revolution, and last nights episode was awesome, emotional and a little scary.  I follow them on twitter and was pleasantly surprised to find out that they are collaborating with the United Nations.  The show if you don’t watch it is about a post-apocalyptic world where all the electricity has gone out.  The UN wanted to collaborate with the creators because they are bringing light to the fact that 1.5 billion people go without electricity every day. 

When I found this out I got to thinking about how much I rely on electricity and I use it for pretty much everything.  I cannot read brail because I have lost sensation in my fingers over the years so I rely on audio books to read because I am an avid reader.  I use the computer to take classes, pay bills, to write and even to communicate with others.  As you can tell I don’t get out much because it is kind of hard to do things on my own when I can’t see or walk.  Before I lost these abilities however I used the regular amount of electricity. 

Anyways, this show ad its partnership with the UN just got me thinking of how lucky I am to have what I do and makes me more aware of what I do, for example recycle, which I already do.  Just for those who read this just be thankful for what you have and any thing you do to help the environment helps.

Leave a Reply

